How to Use AI to Write Your Stories

Have writer's block? Just want to bang out some content right away, but can’t put pen to paper? What if I told you that you can get a computer program to write out your content? “How?” you ask. Read on, my friend, and find out.

Liam Hall
6 min readOct 11, 2021

For this example, I am going to use a website called Text Synth. This site uses predictive text, similar to your smartphone predictive text feature, and attempts to complete a paragraph or so based on what you put into it.

So if we go to the site, you will see right away that there is a big box that you can input text in. Based on what you put in that box, the site will output a continuation of your text. The shorter the input, the more random the text it will create, but if you put a fairly large chunk of text in, the output will be accurate.

So, let's try this in action. I’ll put in a sample text, and put the response in a quote after. My sample text will be the quote right at the beginning of HP Lovecraft's Call of Cthulhu.

Photo by Robert Coelho on Unsplash

--

--

Liam Hall

I like to write about crime, among other things. Studying computer security. Join Medium using my referral link https://zeph456.medium.com/membership